Back to top

Hideko

The art of the Japanese line

Global design concept for a Japanese sake bottle for the HIDEKO brand including the creation and graphics of two labels and the design of the sake bottle.

 

The project is for a uniquely designed, custom-made bottle made of blue-tinted glass. The design reproduces the exterior silhouette of a traditional Japanese sake bottle. Its center design refers to Japanese sand gardens, with graphic lines inspired by those made by rakes in the sand.

 

These large intertwining furrows traverse the bottle and form the sign of infinity, a true symbol of eternal renewal: the rhythm of the seasons, the rice harvest and the production of sake.

 

This permanent relationship between man and the land reminds us of a dance made up of a perpetual cycle of alternating approaching and distancing. It guides the shape of the motif, making it a distinctive signifier of both the design and manufacturing of the bottle.

 

The graphic work on the label was undertaken in two phases. The free spaces left by the undulating shapes of movement over the glass express the desire to bring together the distinctive coat of arms of the city of Otsuki, in the upper section, with the attributes of the Hideko brand in the lower section.

 

The graphical motif revolves around a blue monochrome coat of arms of the city, adopting the singular color of the glass of the bottle. The coat of arms of the city of Otsuki is reproduced as a bold logotype, placed in a similar manner to escutcheons often found on bottles of wine from Pays de la Loire region of France. It illustrates the brand’s wish to project both distinction and respectability and is accompanied by an explanatory blazon.

 

In addition to the geographical information of the circular blazon, the lower of the two labels is dedicated to the brand. HIDEKO, written using a very structured and simple custom uppercase typography, is completed by its Kanji, hand-drawn by our teams using a refined and impactful composition.

 

To create a dialogue between these two essential influences in the development of a product that is rich in history, and the highlighting of the place of production and the valuing of a region dear to the consumer, we have chosen a white cotton paper that is close to the physical characteristics of traditional Japanese paper. This thick and flexible paper is ideal for receiving hot foil graphic and typographic embossing, guaranteeing a strong and elegant brand statement.

 

The Studio Boam proposed a global design process exploiting the full range of available codes linked to the brand throughout this project. Highlighting a specific history as well as a tactile design imbued with various references was a guideline for this project, combining artistic tradition and a graphic treatment linked to the Japanese garden aesthetic.

Deliverable :
  • Visual identity design
  • Logo design
  • Label design
  • 3D bottle

d
Follow us

Back to top

Hideko

L’art de la ligne et du décor japonais

Création d’un concept de design global pour la bouteille de saké japonais de la marque HIDEKO comprenant la création et le graphisme de deux étiquettes et du design de la bouteille de saké.

 

La bouteille au design inédit conçue sur mesure pour le projet est réalisée en verre bleu teinté dans la masse. Elle reprend la silhouette extérieure des bouteilles traditionnelles de saké japonais. Son centre fait référence aux jardins japonais, reprenant l’art du tracé graphique réalisé dans le sable à l’aide de différents râteaux.

 

Ces grands sillons qui s’entrelacent marquent la bouteille de leurs empreintes et forment volontairement le signe de l’infini ; véritable symbole d’un éternel recommencement, celui du rythme des saisons, de la récolte du riz et de la production du saké.

 

Ce rapport permanent de l’homme à la terre nous rappelle une danse faite de rapprochements et d’éloignements perpétuels. Il guide la forme du motif pour en faire un signe distinctif du design et de l’industrialisation de la bouteille.

 

Le travail de graphisme sur l’étiquette est effectué en deux parties. Les espaces libres laissés par les formes du mouvement d’ondulation du verre expriment le souhait de faire converser les signes distinctifs de la ville d’Otsuki, en partie haute avec les attributs de la marque Hideko, en partie basse.

 

Le geste graphique s’articule autour d’un traitement monochrome hérissé bleu, reprenant la couleur très singulière du verre de la bouteille. Les armoiries de la ville d’Otsuki sont détournées sous la forme d’un logotype évident, placé comme un écusson souvent propre aux bouteilles de vin des Pays de la Loire. Il marque le souhait de distinction et de respectabilité de la marque et est appuyé par un texte explicatif.

En complément des informations géographiques de l’étiquette circulaire, l’étiquette basse est dédiée à la marque. HIDEKO, écrit avec une typographie sur mesure haut de casse très architecturée et simple, est complété par son Kanji dessiné à la main par nos équipes, le tout dans une composition épurée et impactante.

 

Pour faire dialoguer au mieux ces deux informations primordiales dans la mise en valeur d’un produit ancestral, et la nouvelle donnée de traçabilité exacte du lieu de production et de valorisation d’un terroir cher au consommateur, nous avons choisi un papier coton blanc reprenant au plus près les caractéristiques physiques d’un papier traditionnel japonais. Ce papier épais et souple est idéal pour recevoir les traitements d’une dorure à chaud des informations graphiques et typographiques, garantissant un foulage fort et un marquage élégant.

 

Le Studio Boam propose à travers ce projet, un exercice de design global reprenant l’ensemble des codes marquants dont les marques sont soucieuses. Mettre en avant une histoire singulière ainsi qu’un design marqué empreint de diverses références a été une ligne directrice pour ce projet, mêlant tradition artistique et traitement graphique des jardins japonais.

d
Follow us